Here we go again

I am feeling decidedly shifty about this year’s Junior Doctors’ recruitment.

As you all know, I went off on one for most of the first half of last year while the abortion that was MTAS and the obscenity that is MMC unfurled before my horrified eyes. It affected me personally because the one I mention here occasionally was going through the mill. However he was one of the lucky ones, he got his ticket to ride and he’s ok.

This year is going to be far worse. This year the ratios are worse, the ward-fodder is better informed, and the government is studiously ignoring the Tooke Report. There isn’t a centralised system to horrify us all, instead the disasters are going to be private and personal, tucked away in wards and clinics and locum shifts across the country, but no less devastating to those involved.

But this year I’m not going to be on the barricades. I feel guilty and shifty about this. Last year left me wrung out and emotionally exhausted by the whole bloody mess but nowhere near as wrung out and emotionally exhausted as it left the doctors and partners of doctors who were unlucky then and who are now about to go through the mill again. And this is why I feel shifty. I wept and wailed and gnashed my teeth while the one I worry about was at risk, but I know I am not going to do the same thing again this year, because I know I don’t have the energy to be that angry for that long.

I dislike bad-weather activists, and look at me. My personal sun is shining and devil take the hindmost.

In the meantime, let me tell you that it is apparently a good thing that the application ratios are between 3-1 and 19-1 for training posts. £250k of my money, and yours if you live in the UK, to get a Junior Doctor to the point where their career is officially stalled or where they leave the profession.

The implication in the Daily Mail and other isolationist press that foreign doctors are coming over and nicking our doctors’ jobs is despicable. The International Medical Graduates are the reason we still have an NHS. They came here during the last 7 years on the understanding that they would be treated equally, but the government tried to renege on that deal last year.

Shutting the door on new IMGs seems like a good idea to me, but don’t turn around and bite the hands that came across the water during the last 7 years and saved the NHS.

3 responses to “Here we go again

  1. another year or two and i’ll be directly inovlved in all this, they keep saying it will be sorted by then. can’t see it myself.

  2. Agreed, much badness.

    One point :
    £250k of my money, and yours if you live in the UK, to get a Junior Doctor to the point where their career is officially stalled or where they leave the profession
    – isn’t this just an urban legend?

    On the closed Doctor’s Net forums it’s been discussed and no matter how hard folks try folk have managed not to get to even half that figure.

  3. At least you know what to expect, little medic. And have no false loyalty to the UK. Go where the sun shines and the surf’s up if you can.

    I’ve not been able to source the proof for the £250k either, Shrink. It could be a mix of NHS time and resources, university time and resources and student loans.

    The crude way to do it would be to say “how much does it cost to run all the med schools for a year” divide by the number of students and multiply by five.

    Of course that would just take you up to graduation, you then need to add on the salaries for the first three or four years’ of employment, which is where it really ramps up.

    Thanks both for reading and commenting.

    Aphra.

Leave a Reply

