November’s here and the time is right…

NaBloPoMo 2007… for blogging in the street. Well, blogging every day, anyway.

It’s Inter-National Blog Post Month again. This is a tribute to National Novel Writing Month, in which people actually do knock off 50,000 words in 30 days. Now that’s an achievement.

Last year during NaBloPoMo my posts got shorter and more incidental. That’s ‘incidental’ as in ‘discussing incidents’. Less considered. More ephemeral. As I put it half way through the month:

Apples be ripe
Nuts be brown
Quantity up
Quality down

The blogger coordinating NaBloPoMo suggests:

This year, for those of you who suspect you might run out of gas, maybe you’d like to try blogging on a theme. Follow a news story for the month; get deeper into an issue that you want to educate yourself about; keep us abreast of how your yoga practice / daily muffin-eating regime / matchstick Eiffel Tower is progressing.

But eclecticism is in the tagline and the main theme here has been Fantasy CE-bloody-O for the last 6 weeks, and themed blogging gets on one’s nerves after a while, don’t you think?

Who cares where NaBloPoMo will blow this blog this autumn; I’m just bouncing along for the ride.

5 responses to “November’s here and the time is right…

  1. And I’ll be bouncing along in parallel! Good luck.

  2. Pingback: The Blogathon begins… « Oh Waily Waily

  3. I have been thinking of the issue of quality vs. quantity myself lately. Forcing myself to write every day for the past six+ months has been helpful in my development as a writer, but I do find that it impacts the quality of what I can write. I find myself choosing not to write posts on complex topics because I know I can’t finish them in just one sitting, and I have to finish something so that I can post. Oddly enough, we’re here in NaBloPoMo, and I’m thinking of cutting back.

Leave a comment