Double bubble

Woo Hoo! A post I can tag both Apostrophes AND Business Analysis!

In fairness, whoever wrote this speaks English far better than I speak any other language. But the sloppy layout in section 1.5 is not “Attention to Details” in any language.

I like “data’s” though.

I really like “data’s”.

I might start spelling it that way myself.

7 responses to “Double bubble

  1. Sorry in retrospect that comment looks sarky, it really wasn’t did find it funny.

  2. Well, the post risks being sarky too, Ralph. It seems inherently sarky of me to notice and comment on other people’s use of apostrophes. In fact I think the apostrophe’s gone feral, and I don’t judge people one way or the other by how they use it. I judge their teachers perhaps, but not the people themselves.

    But data’s is sweet. I wrote a 3,000 word essay on Research Methods where I never once used data as the subject of a sentence or referred to data using a pronoun because I couldn’t bring myself to say “the data are” and my tutor would have marked me down if I had said “the data is”.

  3. Plus there’s the “…teams, A nature of understanding…” in the next paragraph.

    But why would one ever need to say “the data is” OR “the data are”?

    • Oh, the original’s full of ’em Paddy, but I felt mean.

      You might want to say “the data indicates” or “these decisions were based on this data” though.

  4. SonofRojBlake

    I surely can’t be the only one who read “data’s” as “thing belonging to the character played by Brent Spiner”.

    I’ll get me coat.

  5. As in “team working with Data’s cat reveal fresh evidence that felines prefer the company of androids”?

    I agree with Ben that ‘data’ is a pig of a word to use. You often end up having to sacrifice either elegance or correctness.

Leave a Reply

