A commentators’ meme

Here’s a meme and a half, courtesy of Solnushka at “Verbosity leads to unclear inarticulate things”.

The rules:

1. List the last ten people who have commented on your blog

2. If you’re on my list then you should do the meme on your blog too [if you would like to – I’m wary of anything that smacks of creating obligations AB]

  1. Reed at Out of Ideas
  2. Healing Magic Hands at The Havens
  3. kelli
  4. Creig Buchannah
  5. Hairy Farmer Family at The Hairy Farmer Family
  6. Alfster
  7. Son of Roj Blake
  8. Paul
  9. Omega Mum at Three kids no job 
  10. Anticant at Anticant’s Arena 

Now for the questions:

1: What is your favourite post from number 3’s blog?  (Kelli)

Kelli doesn’t blog, which is a shame.  She’d post grounded and well-informed posts about whatever her project was at the time – currently motherhood, which has occasionally been difficult, and pregnancy.

2. Has number 10 taken any pictures that have moved you? (Anticant)

Not that I am aware of, but I’m charmed by the portrait of him as a mouse elegantly ensconced in a wing chair wearing a paisley silk dressing gown with a smoking hat and pince nez, reading a book.

3. Does number 6 reply to comments on their blog?  (Alfster)

Alas, Alfster is another of my visitors who does not blog.

4. Which part of blogland is number 2 from?  (Healing Magic Hands)

She’s in “A medium size town in Missouri” and – if she will forgive me for saying so – she’s from somewhat left of the field, having a labyrinth and a river and a great openness and warmth for people.

5. If you could give one piece of advice to number 7 what would it be? (Son of Roj Blake)

Ooooh.  It’s tempting to say “Don’t be a stranger”.  He’s always ignored my advice in the past and I’m not aware that he needs any now.  On the other hand it’s also tempting to say “take Jesus into your heart as a friend” simply to see the steam come out of his ears.

6. Have you ever tried something from number 9’s blog? (Omega Mum)

Nn…no.  Her blog is more of an Awful Warning than a source of useful Hints and Tips.  The Awful Warning that springs to mind at the moment is don’t go cycling commando.

7. Has number 1 blogged something that inspired you? (Reed)

Her use of language.  Her sense of humour.  The letters after her name. Her sheer bloody bravery under fire.  Yes.  Here, for fun, is a post from last year about the crack in the floor at the Tate.

8. How often do you comment on number 4’s blog?  (Creig Buchannah)

Never at all.  His post was spam.  However I dislike revisionism so I tend to simply remove the links and leave the comments.  Besides which there was something about the combination of literacy, unfamiliarity with the language leaps of illogic and non-sequiteurs that appealed to me.

9. Do you wait for number 8 to post excitedly? (Paul)

Paul drifted in, didn’t leave a link, and drifted out again.  I don’t know him from Adam.  Or Eve.  Or Kissmequick.

10. How did number 5’s blog change your life?  (Hairy Farmer Family)

Um.  I don’t think any blog has done that.  She’s given me insights into motherhood and rural life, some of which I’d rather not have had

11. Do you know any of the 10 bloggers in person?

I’ve met Reed on several occasions, and adored her every time.  I danced at Kelli’s wedding.  Alfster and the Son of Roj Blake weeded my allotment in exchange for a round or two of allotment golf.  And Verbosity, too, I know, not to mention the Star who I met while he was still a bump.  So yes.

12. Do any of your 10 bloggers know each other in person?

Alfster and the Son of Roj Blake go way back.  Two bodies, one mind.  Reed and Verbosity I know are close and dear friends in real life as well as on the internets.  Reed has met the Hairy Farmer Family, to my enduring envy.  Kelli knows Reed, Verbosity, and the Son of Roj Blake, but probably not Alfster.

Look, shall I draw you a diagram?  

13. Out of the 10, which updates more frequently?

Oh, I’m not sure.  None of them enough for me.

14. Which of the 10 keep you laughing?

All of them.  And crying too.  

15. Which of the 10 has made you cry (good or bad tears)?

See above.

PS – Interesting that the meme assumes that all commentators are bloggers.  And interesting that so many of mine are not.

11 responses to “A commentators’ meme

  1. 🙂

    I might offer as an excuse the following: I used to call you quite a lot. I did so by way of a tradition, or old charter, or something, that every time I safely landed after walking into the sky from the top of a hill, I’d give you a ring. You may note that this year it’s been uniformly bloody ‘orrible, so I haven’t walked into the sky since June. Hence, stranger. Will address…

  2. “Somewhat left of the field” is quite the understatement, especially if you start thinking about just exactly how far left of most of my neighbors I am! Of course, most of them are unaware of just how far left of them I am, so far there have not been any crosses burned on my lawn.

  3. Pingback: The Commenters’ Meme « Charlotte’s Web

  4. “NaBloPoMo”… if only it was “NoBloPoMo” it would sound like fluent Judoon…

  5. Maybe I’ll get round to doing it, but not quite yet as I’ve been busy writing a book as well as reading some.

    Glad you like lavenderblue’s too flattering portrait of me, Aphra. Wish I had a dressing gown and hat like those – perhaps someone will give me them for Christmas [hint]…..

  6. Having had my appraisal last week I was told I have been ‘volunteered’ to submit some entries to a blog that has been set up at work by a guy who ‘didn’t step back quickly enough’.

    Therefore, if someone does reply to that blog I’ll be paid to reply to it so hell yes I’ll reply.

  7. Ah, didn’t explain clearly enough…

    Judoon: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=tJ_pj31YdrY&feature=related

    and…

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=llb4_dSUvIs

    I trust this explains everything.

  8. I spend quite enough time contemplating my navel (currently doing a good impression of the Alien just before it ruined John Hurt’s breakfast) without committing myself to blogging about it 😀

    It is a compliment to you, Aphra, that so many people who can’t be arsed to blog themselves will make the effort to read and comment on yours.

  9. Sorry to post this here, Aphra, but I needed somewhere to respond to a question kelli asked me on the place where you meet internet weirdos…

    kelli:

    Not sure what you mean by “Home Counties”, but go here: http://www.bhpa.co.uk/bhpa/schools/ and type in your postcode.

    The understandable mistake you’ve made is to confuse clubs and schools.

    Schools exist to train pilots. (Duh). Clubs, on the other hand, exist, in the main, to manage access to the sites trained pilots need, i.e. hills and landing fields. All paragliding and hang-gliding in the UK takes place with the permission and cooperation of the people who own the land, so the clubs exist to keep them happy and to keep access to those sites open.

    One other thing: I recommend paragliding over hang gliding. Reasons: HG vs. PG.

    HG Advantages:
    Faster
    Wider range of weather in which you can do it
    Better glide ratio = longer flights, greater distances

    HG disadvantages:
    A good deal more expensive
    Harder to learn
    MUCH harder to transport and carry up the hill – the gliders are big, and heavy.
    Not as many people do it

    PG advantages:
    Cheaper kit (feasible you could be completed kitted out for <£1000 second hand, or <£2500 for all-new kit)
    MUCH easier to transport (EVERYTHING I need fits in one rucksack that fits comfortably in the boot of my Ibiza and weighs less than 30kg).
    Very easy to learn (your first flight will be solo!)
    Far more popular (for reasons above)

    PG disadvantages:
    Slower
    Because of the above, very narrow range of weather in which it’s possible to fly at all, and even narrower range in which it’s possible to train.

    The latter point is important: whatever you book will be subject to the vagaries of the weather. I spent a LONG time travelling to distant parts to sit on a hill for hours and be told we couldn’t fly. They call it “parawaiting” for good reason. The one thing you can say about anyone you see flying a paraglider is that they really, REALLY wanted to do it, because if you’re less than obsessed, you get disillusioned with the uncooperative weather and go and take up something else.

    For that reason, another possibility is going to learn it abroad. Most schools run courses in foreign climes, places where the weather is more consistent. Worth considering, perhaps.

    Have fun!

  10. Thanks for that SoRB, I’d just googled hang gliding lessons and got a long list of clubs saying they didn’t do them…

    Actually,given the level of obsessiveness required I probably won’t mention this to the husband for a while – at least not until baby #2 has grown a bit. He doesn’t need any more excuses to duck out of nappy duty 😀

    And thanks, Aphra, for putting up with crossover postings. x

Leave a Reply

