What are Twitter thinking? #Twitter #stupid #phishing

I am SERIOUSLY unimpressed by Twitter.

I guess a lot of us have been sending out Direct Messages about having more satisfying sex for longer, and those of us with half a brain have been changing our passwords.

But this email from Twitter is unforgivable:

Twits at Twitter

Moronic email from Twitter

The text reads:

Hey there.

Due to concern that your account may have been compromised in a phishing attack that took place off-Twitter, your password was reset. Please create a new password by opening this link in your browser:
http://twitter.com/account/password_reset?email=etc,etc

This will reset your password.

This is stupid because it encourages people to trust unsolicited emails which ask them to click on a link.  Phishing emails in fact.  Yes, let’s train people to trust links in unsolicited emails which aren’t addressed to them personally. That would be cool.

Not.

This is in fact so blindingly moronic that I cannot bring myself to explain how blindingly moronic it is.  I don’t want to ruin my entire weekend with the rage I’d generate in myself.

Of course if I really want to get my point out there, I should tweet it.

8 responses to “What are Twitter thinking? #Twitter #stupid #phishing

  1. What the…?
    Oh, fertheloveo’god!

  2. Eesh. I think even my in-laws (notoriously not-‘net-savvy–thought Wikipedia was a great place for medical advice) would know better. Then again, they’re paranoid at times…

  3. That is monumentally stupid – I certainly wouldn’t click on the link in the email (if I suspected it was real, I’d go to the home page and find a different way in to that function), and Twitter ought to know that most net-savvy users will have been ‘trained’ not to do so by now. I ope this ndoesn’t lead to swathesof people compromising their online bank security etc,

  4. I emailed my bank and pointed out they were using the same flawed logic in their emails. Didn’t make any difference though.

  5. Yes that is astoundingly thick of Twitter. And they have the gall to “blame” us for falling for these things. Idiots.

  6. Stupid indeed.

    Some years ago, someone created an URL that was very similar to one of the Swedish banks. The fake bank site looked very similar to the real one, with bank logo, buttons etc. copied.

    Then e-mails were sent out to people with online bank accounts in that bank (don’t remember how they got the addresses) asking them to log on and change their password due to security issuses.

    This was the only Swedish bank to be hit by the millennium bug making it impossible for me to access my money for three weeks, with no compensation or excuse afterwards.

    Needless to say I’ve changed bank since.

  7. I agree. I was impressed recently that one site i had a problem with deliberately stated that they would NOT supply a link to click on precisely because phishers use that strategy, and told me to re-enter the site URL from scratch. However, to my shame i can’t remember the name of the site.

  8. They’ve sent me another one!

    Unbe-bleepin’-leiveable!

    Thanks all for taking the time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

