Migraines 6 – five days and counting

I’ve posted elsewhere about migraines. In particular I have posted about the idea that we are a prey species, and migraines hunt us down and feast on our open brains, our pain dripping down from their bloodied jaws.

Well, now I’ve discovered that the migraine is not only a mighty hunter, it’s a mighty hunter with a grudge. It’s been months since I’ve had a migraine – the last time I posted on the topic was over a year ago.  Yes, at the end of last year I was burning the candle at both ends, and at the beginning of this year I just threw the bloody candle on the fire and admired the pretty flames. I was well aware that the only things keeping me going were beta-blockers and triptanes.

On Saturday the dam gave way. Today is Wednesday. You do the math.

In fairness there have been gaps (I’m in one now) and they have been Level 1 – 3 migraines. But even so.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I grade my migraines thusly:

Level 1 – pain on one side of the head, slight feeling of nausea, can think clearly
Level 2 – as above, but mental processes numbed
Level 3 – as above, but with moaning and occasional vomiting
Level 4 – it seems like a good idea to walk about because that way you may leave the pain behind
Level 5 – as above, but you try to knock the pain out of your head by banging it against a wall

Interestingly, triptanes will often relieve the pain but leave your mental processes haywire, so you feel ok but are very disengaged: an Aphra-shaped automaton-zombie-creature. Or whatever shape you actually take in the universe, of course.

I really do want to be free of this tomorrow.

And yes, I have been to see the doctor. Doh.

4 responses to “Migraines 6 – five days and counting

  1. Oh dear, oh dear. That sounds uttering appalling. Poor Aphra. ((Hugs))

  2. UtterLY. I meant utterLY.
    Damned toddler distractions.

  3. My mother suffered from migraines which were so severe she spent at least 24 hours – frequently longer – in bed in a darkened room with a boiling hot water bottle pressed to her temple. These episodes were a fact of family life when I was a child, and maybe the reason why I became domesticated so early!

    The upside is that they ceased when she was in her 50s, around the menopause.

  4. I am sorry to hear about your recurrence. After months of being migraine-free, I had one while on holiday in South Africa. Pretty shit. I took my trips, but I agree with you that they leave one very fuzzy and disengaged. I think I welcome menopause.

Leave a Reply

