A meme on modelling

Craig Brown of Better Projects has launched a modelling meme for BAs and PMs.

He asks us to 

Recall the first and last analysis model you used at work. 

An interesting question for a BA.  

My first diagrams were probably Wide Area Networking diagrams from back in the day. Admittedly my job title wasn’t “Business Analyst” but it was still all about balancing requirements, technology and budget.  

For a while after that they’d have been web page designs, and then the branch and workarea diagrams for Interwoven TeamSite installations.  Since then I’ve done every sort of process diagram, dataflow diagrams and influence diagrams, soft systems diagrams and of course a shed-load of UML.  

It’s been a while since I’ve done any modelling at work though I was messing around with Visio and a process flow today.

My two most recent models haven’t been done on my employer’s time.  One is a model of investigative questions, and directly relates to The Business Analyst’s Guide to Questions, which is a series of posts I am publishing over the next few months.  

 

Question grid based on Kipling's honest serving men

Question grid based on Kipling's honest serving men

The other hasn’t been drawn yet, but will plot quantative research vs qualitative research in a 2×2.  This is something I’m thinking about as a result of my MSc.  These two research methodologies are normally  considered to be opposing poles of the same scale, but I wonder if there’s something useful to uncover if we model them as two different dimensions which sit at right angles to each other.   Surely collecting statistics about how pople feel is BOTH quantative and qualitative and sits out there in the middle of a 2×2.  I’ve not done the analysis yet, so we shall see.

4 responses to “A meme on modelling

  1. Hey

    Thanks for joining in.

    I’m keen to see that 2*2 quality model exposed. It’ll be an intereting excercise at the very least.

    Craig

  2. I’m intrigued to see what I find when I do it, so I’ll put it up here and drop you a line.

    Cheers

    Ben

  3. Hi Mate,

    Have a quick look at the video on the link below. Its only 5 mins long and is actually a training video on the best thing out there

    http://www.processmaster.com/Training-Videos/ProcessPad-Quick-Start-Guide.html

  4. Oooh. Pretty! Pretty-pretty.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

