So basic, there’s no apostrophe

I so knew I shouldn’t start blogging about apostrophes.  

I found these in Sainsbury’s the other day.  Ironic, for a company which is so fussy about its own apostrophe.  

Sainsbury's basics, now with missing apostrophe

Sainsbury's basics, now with missing apostrophes

I love this packaging because I think that using the apostrophe for the posessive is a 16th century affectation (as I’ve said elsewhere) and I like the look of the words without excess punctuation.  

It’s also so refreshing to find missing apostrophes, instead of unecessary ones.  Big sis sent me some of those which I’ll post later in the week.  

The socks are ok too.

Leave a Reply

