The Fairy Godmother Meme

Fairy GodmotherI was lying in bed the other day at 4:00 in the morning counting my blessings, when this meme popped into my head fully formed.

Since the panto season is upon us, I offer it up to you for fun.

What good gift did your Fairy Godmother actually give you?

What good gift do you wish she’d given you instead?

What bad gift did the wicked Fairy give you?

What bad gift do you wish she’d given you?

And finally: if you could have one magical item, what would it be?

If you do it, please credit this post.

Here are my answers:

What good gift did your Fairy Godmother actually give you?

The instinct to answer the question “is the glass half full or half empty” with “Who cares!  There’s room for another one in there!”

More simply, I’d rather be happy than sad: I’m glad I can pay my bills instead of being unhappy that I can’t buy the geegaws; I’m pleased that no-one was hurt instead of being angry that thieves wrote off my car.

What good gift do you wish she’d given you instead?

The ability to thrive on four hours’ sleep a night.  20 hours of alert and functional time every day – now that would be a gift worth having.

What bad gift did the wicked Fairy Give you?

Fat ankles.  I’ve never really forgiven the universe for that.

What bad gift do you wish she’d given you instead?

The wit of Mae West – I’ve been trying to work out what she’d say here.

And finally: if you could have one magical item, what would it be?

A house that never needed cleaning.

So there you go – the Fairy godmother meme is my seasonal gift to the wonderweb.

Have fun.

5 responses to “The Fairy Godmother Meme

  1. Pingback: The Fairygodmother Meme « Somewhere in the Middle

  2. This is such a good meme, AB.
    I enjoyed the exercise.

  3. My pleasure – counting blessings is important to me, and it’s fun to find out what other people like about themselves.

    *hugs*

    Aphra.

  4. What good gift did your Fairy Godmother actually give you?

    Unusually high intelligence.

    What good gift do you wish she’d given you instead?

    The inclination to use my intelligence for something other than showing people how bloody clever I am. Like, for instance, having some ambition.

    What bad gift did the wicked Fairy give you?

    A glass back.

    What bad gift do you wish she’d given you?

    The ability to stab people in the back, and to be stabbed in the back, and not care. I have a rich inner life in which I’m a cold, calculating, ruthless heartless bastard. So far, from my actions, it appears that in reality I’m a big softie. I wish I could be as selfish and ruthless as some of the women I’ve been hurt by.

    And finally: if you could have one magical item, what would it be?

    Not seven-league boots, that’s for sure. As T. Pratchett pointed out, if you think clearly about them, they’re a magical item which involves allowing you to stand, just for a moment, with your feet 21 miles apart. If that doesn’t make your eyes water, I don’t know what will.

    Magical items… a TARDIS. Despite its technological trappings, let’s face, it’s magic.

    There’s quite a nice line in Ricky Gervais’s latest movie – the best line in it in fact, and not one on IMDb’s page of memorable quotes, so I’ll have to do it from memory instead of copying and pasting. It’s something like “I’ve just met a woman so wonderful that I want to go back in time to before I met her, because that would be preferable to going on with my life knowing she’s out there with someone else.”

    He gets her in the end. Kinda.

  5. Pingback: A Was Alarmed » Blog Archive » The Fairy Godmother Meme

Leave a Reply

