The Question Is…

Tony Robbins has a slick one-liner in one of his self-help books.  He says:

Questions are the answer.

For a Business Analyst that is certainly true.

It’s true for academics too, in a different way.  I’m currently taking a Research Methods course as part of my MSc at Bristol, and am having to think about questions and answers in a whole new way.  I’m having to think of them as the set-up for a piece of research, and the research has to be doable.

Now I thought I was reasonably clear on what I want to do for my dissertation.  Something along the lines of “What mitigates for success or failure of a corporate Knowledge Base, and is it worth the time and effort?”  – Get that use “mitigates” eh?

But of course, when you start picking that over you start finding that it’s as full of holes as a crunchie:  what do you mean by “success” and “failure” in this context?  What is a corporate Knowledge Base anyway, and what things aren’t corporate knowledge bases?  How do you measure what’s “worth it?”

My usual standbys don’t work in this context.  If I put this question to a team in a workshop I’d ask them “what does good look like?” and

Leave a Reply

