Popping my Wikipedia Cherry

I popped my Wikipedia cherry the other day.  

I didn’t contribute much.  It was in an entry about food.  I changed the following sentence from:

It is in trend for corn syrup to be flavored with vanilla extract (citation needed).

to:

There is now a trend for corn syrup to be flavored with vanilla extract (citation needed).

Two minutes later someone deleted the whole sentence, presumably because it wasn’t supported by a citation.  So my contribution to the sum of human knowledge was there for – oh – gosh – 120 seconds!

2 responses to “Popping my Wikipedia Cherry

  1. Hey, there. 🙂 I happen to be a Wikipedia admin, and came across this post. You might be surprised how many of our most active editors got started in very similar ways. Small improvements over time do add up to produce a better product.

    If you’re ever curious to try some more editing, I’m sure we’d be happy to have you. There’s a pretty handy introduction at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Introduction

  2. Oh, I’m a huge fan of everything about Wikipedia, Luna and joining in for the first time was a big thing for me. The fact it lasted two minutes was just funny – and proof that in Wikipedia the model’s working.

    I would help out more – honest I would – (of course I would) – but I don’t feel I’m enough of a SME on any S at all, and I know how much time that sort of project hoovers up.

    What delights me these days about Wikipedia is that tens of thousands of people quietly plugging away are overcoming the objections that it’s inaccurate and inauthoratative.

    Keep up the good work. I was delighted to have joined in and will continue whenever I see a way that I can contribute.

    Thank you very much for your comment.

    Ben

Leave a Reply

