Across the Universe

PolarisJulie’s comment about the Turner Prize on my previous post reminded me of something I’ve been meaning to write up for a while.

Wouldn’t it be better if the Turner Prize was just announced the way that the Nobel Prize is? None of this “and the nominees are…” crap.

If they did, then the prize this year should go to NASA. Yep, the eningeering dudes who run the Space Station and put men on the moon.

Yeah, I know that they’re Scientists and Americans, but they came up with the most amazing piece of art last month. They beamed the Beatles’ song “Across the Universe” at the Pole Star, Polaris, the most useful and influential of the stars visible from here.

I don’t know what the guys at NASA call it, but in my book it may be cheesy, it’s also brilliant conceptual art. They’ve blurred the boundaries between science and art and done something inspiring and witty, and clever and pointless, a piece of apposite cosmic graffiti, and we should give those geeks a prize.

One response to “Across the Universe

  1. You know, it is terrible, but I am not familiar with that song, although if I heard it , I would probably say, “Oh yes,” because I am of that generation. By all means, let NASA have the price and do it like the Nobel price. I don’t like this, “and the nominees are…” Especially the big drum roll after that, the one that is supposed to hold you in suspense, you know, after they say, “and the winner is…”

Leave a Reply

