Twilit satanic mills

I’m slightly disappointed with the G800 on two counts – firstly the PC software has not been glitch-free. There’s good retro, and bad retro, and problems installing software and random errors and re-launches are bad retro. Secondly it doesn’t seem to be possible to control the focal length: everything seems to be in focus, and I’m not sure that’s what I want. I don’t feel I’m being unreasonable: the Ericsson gave me more control than I expected with that. I’m going to make a point of exploring that more.

In the meantime here’s today’s picture (grabbed in haste on my way home this evening) of a 1960s tower block bracketed by some refurbished mill buildings. There’s a whole recursive spiral of irony in here if you feel that way inclined, but that’s not what this blog is about and I think it’s rather a dull picture.

Twilit DC

The good news is the phone coped with the approaching twilight, the bad news the phone failed to capture what luminosity there was, it’s washed out some of the contrast and some of the quality of the light. It’s not a photograph I’d normally post here. I feel it’s a competently composed image let down by being taken on the hoof, a point confirmed by the fact that I’m rather taken with the version below where it masquerades as etching, which is something I achieved accidentally while trying it out as a black and white image in PhotoImpact to see if it worked better like that.

DC Etching
2 responses to “Twilit satanic mills

  1. It’s true, the photograph doesn’t have many merits, except to show the contrast between old and new. It is not one of great artistry, but as you said, it was taken on the run. You must remember, that it takes many photographs to have at least one good one, so you must remember to take many. Professional photographers shoot many lousy pictures. If I were you, I would concentrate on the small things first, the little up close things, like still lives that nobody else notices. Color and detail and texture etc. That will be a good way to test your camera.

  2. Oooh oooh oooh, I think I recognise the area though, and it’s a much more pleasing view of it than I’m used to (seeing it from the other side, seeing lots of car park) instead of the rather splendid stone buildings you’ve framed it through.

Leave a Reply

