Cold turkey for Christmas

Stopping the FlowI’ve decided that the only way to deal with my Internet addiction is to cut off my supply.

I’m going to post my wireless router to the one I IM with the most.

This may seem drastic, but I think it’s the only way. It isn’t quite as drastic as it sounds: when the shakes and the screaming get too bad I can stand outside the Library waiting for it to open, like the folks who wait at the pharmacy counter of Sainsburys for their bright green doses of methadone.

The problem is that my home-time is outa whack, and I lose hours of my life dickering around on the Intenet. Since I seem to find it impossible to cut down, I need to make it impossible to go online. I’ve a huge bunch of studying to do, and clicking the NaBloPoMo Randomiser ain’t gonna get me educated.

So, I’ve decided to pull the plug on the Internet for a month. I’ll probably keep a diary and blog about it afterwards. You do see how much the Internet frames how I react with the world?

So I’ll see you in the New Year.

10 responses to “Cold turkey for Christmas

  1. Great shame. Couldn’t you just go pithy instead?

  2. We’ll miss you.

    I’d be absolutely delighted if you did keep a diary and blogged about it in the New Year.

  3. Oh, we’ll be going from all to nothing: from a post every day or no Aphra Behn entirely. Enjoy your break and have a happy new year.

  4. Enjoy your time off the Infernalic Web.

    … and welcome back next year.

  5. Um, happy Christmas then, I suppose. See you in January.

  6. Stepping back is sometimes necessary. Look forward to seeing you in January!

  7. We will welcome you back. I totally understand about the time issue. I can spend HOURS on the internet and writing on my blog. Fortunately, I have hours and a very congenial and understanding mate. But still, sometimes it is necessary to call a screeching halt.

  8. Oh, I understand all too well what you mean about the internet eating up hours of your life. Sometimes I wonder how I ever managed to cope without it. See you in the New Year!

  9. How does one get rid of the photo/graphics that usually obscures the first paragraph written?

    For a split second one can see the writing then….

  10. Hello, just stoped by the comment section to thank you for the work you have been doing so others can enjoy your blog with a morning cup of coffe 🙂

Leave a Reply

