Stray cat

I have a visitor each night who comes in to see if there is any spare cat food.

There is, unless he’s eaten it all already, because I make sure that there always is. He eats his way steadily through great full bowls of the stuff but runs out of the house if I move and make eye contact. Nervous as he is, he was considerably worse at the start of the year. He no longer bolts the food down though he doesn’t waste any time either, and he now sits on the kitchen steps for – oh – 15 or 20 seconds after he’s finished eating instead of shooting off as soon as something spooked him. Tiger ignores him completely.

I’d assumed for a while that he was an opportunist trying his luck away from home the way that opportunists do, and in fact I used to clap to get him to go home. But he was so persistent and seemed so hungry that I lost the heart to do that.

However, it was only this week that it finally dawned on me that he is most likely either feral or a stray; sometimes I can be very stupid. He doesn’t have the tatty look I associate with entire toms – he certainly doesn’t spray in the house even though I know he beds down in the living room of a night sometimes. His coat’s shiny and he looks to be in fairly good shape, but then again he should be – he’s getting through a bowl of IAMs a day.

Oh my goodness – awful thought – maybe the reason SHE is so hungry is that she’s pregnant?

5 responses to “Stray cat

  1. That was how we wound up with so many cats when I was a child: feeding a shy but well kept looking cat, who stuck around and gave us a small litter of kittens we couldn’t bear to part with.

  2. It’s tough ending up feeling responsible for a stray cat. You never know what to do, not wanting to be mean and chasing it away. It does make you want to take care of it and maybe give it a permanent home. Let’s hope it isn’t a female. It would be hard to be stuck with a lot of spare kittens.

  3. Kittens are never ‘spare’! I’ m sure you would have no difficulty in finding good homes for them. Our adorable tabby Tiggy [Tiger to you], who is now 11 and the joy of our lives, came to us, with his beautiful black-and-white brother William, who died tragically aged 10 months after breaking his leg [see my heartfelt tribute to him in Anticant’s Burrow archive], through a small ad offering them for free. Luckily I was the first to respond, so won the prize. I’ll aqlways be thankful.

  4. (s)he may also have worms. Is it getting any fatter? Pregnant cats do have that I-swallowed-a-football look.

  5. Mary, I worry about that, though I don’t think s/he’s getting any larger…

    Irene, I realised that I’d crossed a dividing line when I planned to put Tiger in a cattery while I’m away next week, and decided that I would have to get my neighbours to put out food for the “stray”.

    Anticant, Tiggy is clearly a very special cat.

    HMH, as mentioned, s/he isn’t getting visibly fatter. There’ll be worms and fleas and all sorts of things, but I doubt I’ll ever get close enough to touch.

    Thanks all for reading and commenting.

    AB

Leave a Reply

