In which Aphra clears up a misunderstanding left behind by Mr Red

Mr BlueMr RedAn interesting piece of fallout fell out of the Mr Red and Mr Blue situation recently.

Mr Red, as you know, is my former boss – a great guy but so focused on getting there that he never made plans for how to get there. Mr Blue was the polar opposite: he is a man who could use the phrase “we must make a plan for a plan” with no sense of irony at all. Mr Blue doesn’t come into this story though.

The other day I was talking to a Higher Up who said something along the lines of “and I know you like project managment” and I said “???” and we stared at each other in surprise.

“Not me”, I said. “Some other person called Aphra”, I said. “I don’t want be a Project Manager”, I said.

“But Mr Blue said …”

Ah. Well.

“That was just because someone had to stop Mr Blue floating off into the sky”, I told him. “I like to know where I’m going and how I’m getting there, so I like to have a plan but I don’t want to be a PM”.

“Ah”, said the Higher Up. “I’ll move you out of the Project Lead box”.

I’m not entirely sure what that means either in theory or in practice, but I thought it was an interesting piece of fallout.

Leave a Reply

