Putting the Me in MeME

I said I wouldn’t do another meme but I have been thinking about the whys and wherefores of this blog for the last few weeks and worrying about NaBloPoMo slightly, so this is particularly a propos. I picked it up from Charlotte, who gracefully credits yogamum.

1. Do you promote your blog?

No.

2. How often do you check hits?

Two or three times a week, maybe weekly. When I remember. It varies.

3. Do you stick to one topic?

Absolutely not. The blog is where I blart out whatever is on my mind at the time, be it a haiku about birds, photos of places I’ve been, rants about the government, or attempts to understand my own reactions to something I’ve read.

  • I have wide-ranging and eclectic interests
  • You have a butterfly mind.
  • They are completely unfocused.

It’s an indulgence.

4. Who knows that you have a blog?

Well you do, obviously. Most of the friends I’ve made online, many of whom are real life friends now. Colleagues and family don’t.

5. How many blogs do you read?

Not enough, which is bad blog karma. I do read the ones in my blogroll, but intermittently. I keep links to some closed blogs for sentiment’s sake.

6. Are you a fast reader?

It’s a Sunday game; I couldn’t read for my County.

7. Do you customise your blog or do anything technical?

Sure.

8. Do you blog anonymously?

I blog pseudonymously, which is different. Aphra Behn is a pseudonym I use more or less consistently across the internet at the moment.

9. To what extent do you censor yourself?

I don’t talk much about my emotional life, my relationship, living family members, my employers, books, my studies or my finances. I do talk about my sexuality, my medical situation, my politics (such as they are) and to some extent about my job. Basically you have a certain amount of access to the inner Aphra but less access to the outer Ms Behn.

10. The best thing about blogging?

Feedback. In the words of Chrissie Hynde: I want some of your attention.

This seems to be a self-tagging MeMe, so feel free to post about YouYou. If you link to me, I will certainly read it.

4 responses to “Putting the Me in MeME

  1. In the spirit of #10 — thanks for playing along!

    Just wondering if you’ve read Jane Stevenson’s “The Shadow King” in which you (I mean, Aphra Behn) play a prominent part?

  2. Oh, no. Not yet. I’ll put it on my Amazon wish list.

    Thank you yogamum.

    AB

  3. It’s a sequel to “The Winter Queen” so you’ll want to read that first. You don’t show up until the second book!

    I’ll warn you it’s not very flattering šŸ˜‰

  4. Aphra, dear, I have finally got around to doing this meme too. Just in case you were still in the least interested at this embarrassingly late stage of the game.

Leave a Reply

