Happy bloggiversary

It’s been a year now, and the time has come for the traditional taking of stock.

I arrived here on May 10th 2006 with few expectations:

I want to see what happens when you start over again in a place where you have no history and no credit. … This is a step outside [my] comfort zones, to see what happens when – without any background or explanation – a person starts to blog.

I set out my store fairly early. This was to be about anything that grabbed my attention, but my private circumstances would remain private. Yeah, right. I am too fond of blog-streaking to maintain an air of mysterious anonymity, and in fact in my third post I was discussing my reaction to violent erotica. At that time no-one knew I blogged here and the anonymity went to my head. By Post 5 I’d got stuck right in and was discussing how I define my sexuality.

So much for just sticking with ideas.

Reacting

Fame on the cards for Ms Patronising HubrisOf course my Big Blogging Event has been the MMC and MTAS debacle. For a while there were no informed, independent explanations of what was going on and the Patients’ Guides brought me what every blogger wants: glory, recognition and in-bound links, but I didn’t have anywhere I could kick back and let loose.

Once I’d unburdened myself, I needed to return to my random ways even though it meant reducing my stats. So now I blog about MMC and MTAS only when it all becomes too much. Not quite true. The whole thing leaves me speechless and I find photoshoping about MMC and MTAS strangely soothing. I am not sure if it was FerretFancier or Dr Rant who produced the Most Wanted image, but I was delighted to find it in pole position in Google Images the other day:

My other Big Blogging Event was a brain-dump about questions which was a compulsive expression of several years’ thinking about questions, and which was met with a resounding silence with the noble exceptions of Kelli and Sol.

Writing

Moving further back in time, I was still finding my feet in the first part of last summer, and many of my entries aren’t worth the pixels they are displayed with. However, here are half a dozen blog entries from May, June and July last year which missed out rather by being written in those early, low traffic days.

In fact, of course, the whole thing is simple self-indulgence about me, me, me. Which make’s Sol’s question about her style all the more interesting.

Reading

The other half of the blogosphere is the blogs one reads. The most delightful post of the year was, without a doubt, the Candy Battle of Helm’s Deep.

The most upsetting blog-reading and posting experience I had was, by a long way, chez icanplainlysee. I’ve been abused online and offline before, I’ve been disagreed with. But this was the first time I’ve been disappeared. On the other hand, this did help me find the intelligent dissenters listed on my blogroll as “Classy Aenenomies”.

Charlotte’s posts about her children enthral me, partly because Charlotte herself shines through so strongly and partly because she does not take anything for granted.

I steer clear of rabidly feminyst blogs, mainly because this sort of thing enrages me. On the other hand, I have the bottom image from this post on my kitchen wall.

The Eerie Apricot’s description of a school concert where the parents are too exited to shut up and pay attention to their kids on stage has disturbed me and depressed me since I read it. Unfortunately she has deleted her blog.

Mr Angry’s posts on the IT industry almost always having me laughing, except when they make me wince.

It is difficult to pick a single post from Compartments because she is one of the most consistent bloggers out there; here is just one example of her clear-eyed intelligence about the world she half-inhabits.

There are a large number of FtM bloggers out there but the only two that I read regularly are also doctors. Nathaniel is in the process of transitioning. Z is more interested in being a doctor and human being.

Forecasting

However, a year on I am even less sure why I blog than I was when I started.

7 responses to “Happy bloggiversary

  1. Congratulations on your bloggiversary, and thanks for the kind words. They are much needed and appreciated. Like you, I have even less idea of why I blog than when I started. It’s a weird, compulsive, fascinating thing. Looking forward to hearing more of Aphra this year.

  2. Oooh!

    Dude!

    Thanks for the mention! πŸ˜€

  3. Happy Bloggiversary! Many more of them and all that!

  4. Here’s to eclecticism!

    *raises glass

  5. Happy Blog Birthday Aphra. I love this site. It’s one of my regular stops.

    Cheers and warmest wishes.

  6. The doc and I stumbled upon your blog in its early days (or maybe you found us?). At any rate, we’ve enjoyed following your mental streams over the past year.

    Now that you’ve reached your first anniversary, though, I think it is high time to clean up those links of yours! You still have two of my inactive blogs on your sidebar πŸ˜‰

  7. Thank you Charlotte. It is oddly compulsive, isn’t it. Though I have decided that I will now only blog if I have something to say.

    Missedmanners, the Candy Battle of Helms Deep was a thing of beauty to behold. πŸ™‚

    Sol, you too, soon, surely?

    aberdeenquinie: *shlurps*

    Earthpal, thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you like my random whitters.

    Folkrockgirl, if you didn’t gad about the internet quite so much, you’d be easier to keep up with. Warmest regards to you and the doc.

    Many thanks all for reading and commenting.

    Aphra.

Leave a Reply

