Big Brother or Web 2.0?

I cannot decide if the “Recent Readers” widget to the left of the page is really cool or really intrusive.

It’s a vital debate which interests me – community vs individualism – openness vs privacy. I dislike openly pleading for comments (me! me! my blog! me!) but I am curious to know what the netgeist is on this one, so please comment away.

2 responses to “Big Brother or Web 2.0?

  1. Nope, I don’t like it.

    This is just another way of intimidating my privacy.

    What scares me most is how easily we accept this escalating violating of our integrity. Politicians and War mongerers claims the need of fighting terrorists, organised crime and whatever. The ordinary wo/man accepts this because “if you’ve got nothing to hide…”

    Closed circuit cameras, websites where you can obtain information about everything from birthday to tax returns for your neighbours, tracking gadgets like this… the list is very long.

    1984 is not getting closer, it’s here already.

    “He gazed up at the enormous face. Forty years it had taken him to learn what kind of smile was hidden beneath the dark mustache. O cruel, needless misunderstanding! O stubborn, self-willed exile from the loving breast! Two gin-scented tears trickled down the sides of his nose. But it was all right, everything was all right, the struggle was finished. He had won the victory over himself. He loved Big Brother”

    George Orwell: 1984

  2. … and then there’s the whole pseudonymity thing. I’ve just joined a networking site under my own name, and have to remind myself that anything I say there can be tracked back to me. I don’t want to be sacked for stuff I say or do online.

Leave a Reply

