Beauty and the Beasts – Big Brother again I’m afraid

Hopefully this will be my last post on the Big Brother Bullying thing. I saw very little of the actual programme, but thanks to YouTube I’ve seen gory snippets and the eviction interviews.

Shilpa

In her exit interview, Shilpa struck me as being prudent, diplomatic and politic. She had no idea what the British public thought of the bullying, no idea how supportive it was of its local stars. Sure, she’d won, but at that point of course she had not seen the whispering that went on behind her back, so she did not know just how unpleasant Danielle, Jo and Jade had been about her. This is not to say that she was not telling the truth in her interview, but I doubt that she was telling the whole truth. She struck me as someone who was behaving with extreme caution based on very few cues. I find her grace, self-possession and poise to be admirable.

Jade

By far the most illuminating thing Jade said in any of the three interviews I found on YouTube was “I don’t know any (no?) other way to fight”. The only way she knows to express disagreement is by screaming foul-mouthed abuse. I find that both shocking and plausible. It makes me feel sorry for her, but crucially I am sorry for her for different reasons than she is sorry for herself. If she does want to grow up then her starting place is right there. It depends on whether her “advisers” have the maturity themselves to hear what she said in that interview, and find appropriate professionals to help her. (I did find myself wondering just how badly she had pissed her agent off, to make him or her recommend Celebrity Big Brother to her. You can see the stitch marks all over this).

One other thing which was interesting though was she said that she had no idea that she was a leader. She said that she could see it in the videos, but she had not seen it in herself. It is just possible that in the right hands that could be used as the positive point to start building some self-respect and adult responsibility.

You see, Jade reminds me of a three-year-old, in particular in her interview with an obviously uncomfortable Dermot O’Leary and in an interview with an invisible News of the World interviewer. She kept on wailing how sorry she was, but her subtext appeared to be “I’m sorry, please like me, I’m sorry, please like me, I’m sorry, please like me.” She seemed to be eaten by insecurity rather than guilt. Now I don’t recommend guilt as an emotion, but it is at least the first step on the road to remorse on to responsibility and adulthood. She has now checked into the Priory with “depression”. I am sorry, but acute unhappiness is not depression. I’ve been in both spaces. They are very different. She is in the “Mummy make it go away” phase which – to be honest – one should have grown out of by the age of 9. Again, this is not to say that she isn’t honestly desperately miserable right now, but she seems incapable of accepting that the situation is of her own creation.

Danielle and Jo

Danielle and Jo show the self-awareness of logs, I am afraid. Or maybe they have just marginally more self-control and self-respect than Jade, and are simply not wailing all over the red-tops. Danielle did do a very whiny interview in the Mirror, saying that Big Brother hadn’t shown her being nice to Shilpa, unfortunately this was only after she had been told to shape up in the Diary Room, and she seems completely unaware that being nice does not wipe out being nasty. Incidentally, if Teddy Sherringham did decide to end their relationship while she was in the house, then he most certainly should not have said so in public. It just makes him seem as shallow and nasty as the long-legged shit-smelling beauty herself.

Jo I find the most interesting. She denies that she has done anything wrong, which shows that she is herself standing up to the bullying of the press and the other meedja.

Both Danielle and Jo said “I giggled because I was nervous” – so someone briefed them well before those interviews. Most people with nervous giggles have no idea they are doing it.

Ach, it’s all nasty, shallow and unpleasant. But plaudits for Shilpa who “had the grace to hold herself when those about her crawled”, and hold herself in a way which neither Marilyn nor Diana ever managed, for that matter.

I wonder if she’s a gay icon yet.

4 responses to “Beauty and the Beasts – Big Brother again I’m afraid

  1. I wonder how much of Ms Goody’s angst and remorse are being driven by the fact that her milch-cow is trotting over the horizon at an ever increasing rate of knots?

    The only person I’ve seen being less than impressed by Shilpa Shetty was Germaine Greer, who seemed to think there was an astute bit of game playing going on.

  2. So Germaine things Shilpa was pulling the other girls’ strings? How interesting. I’ll have to find out what she’s said about it. I often find that if Ms Greer’s said it, I disagree with it though!

    Aphra.

  3. Hi Aphra,

    Great explanation of the situation. What interested me tonight was the comments of a doctor. As she had left after three days he suggested that this visit had been a “ploy” to garner sympathy, saying that if she was in the condition being bandied about, it would have taken weeks of rehab to repair.

    the Brit

  4. Oh hello Mr Britt. Welcome to my blog.

    You are bang on the money – Jade is no more depressed than I am, though she’s clearly an awful lot more miserable.

    One thing that struck me was that for a woman who professes to be devastated about the affect this may have on her children, she was perfectly happy to leave them for two or three weeks. I honestly don’t know a mother of pre-schoolers who would even consider doing that. Most of them are devestated by their child’s first long walk to kindergarten. I am astonished that playing the motherhood card hasn’t backfired on her.

    Silly girl.

    Aphra.

    PS – Teuchter, you are right, Germane Greer’s article is interesting. And really rather plausible. Interesting stuff. I doubt we’ve heard the last of Ms Shetty.

Leave a Reply

