November again

I just realised today why this winter feels like such an endurance test. We’ve had one frost, but no sustained cold weather, no bright clear white mornings when your breath dances on the air in front of you, precious little sunshine, none of the crisp clear sharp invigorating weather you can walk out in and feel revitalised, and only two of the magical mornings when the mist is shallow and the sun is bright, so you walk out into a white world under a blue sky.

Instead we are, in the words of Bill Bryson, ‘living in tupperware’ while – to add injury to insult – being battered relentlessly by diagonal rain or just by horizontal air, day after night after day after night.

I don’t feel I’m having a winter at all – it isn’t cold enough. I feel like I am enduring four or five months of November.

In the words of Thomas Hood

No sun–no moon!
No morn–no noon!
No dawn–no dusk–no proper time of day–
No sky–no earthly view–
No distance looking blue–

No road–no street–
No “t’other side the way”–
No end to any Row–
No indications where the Crescents go–

No top to any steeple–
No recognitions of familiar people–
No courtesies for showing ’em–
No knowing ’em!

No mail–no post–
No news from any foreign coast–
No park–no ring–no afternoon gentility–
No company–no nobility–

No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,
No comfortable feel in any member–
No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,
No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds,
November!

(PS, I know I said I wouldn’t post today, but I thought I’d share this wee epiphanette with you since the wind woke me early and so I have time this morning.)

6 responses to “November again

  1. Strangely, we’re both posting about the weather at the same time. We’ve also been suffering from an extended November, except things are about to get interesting over here – there’s a hurricane due this afternoon. Wish us luck.

  2. Exactly. We discussed it at work over lunch the other day and agreed that it would make a good cure: “May you live in an eternal November!” Ouch.

  3. All winters are an endurance test. They are Gaia’s way of letting us know that life renews. Just as we get comfortable with one type of winter, She changes things around to keep our sense of ending alive. I see winter as a time of reflection and readying. For wildy productive Spring is never far away.

  4. I like living where there are distinct seasons – even if the margins are becoming blurred.
    I like the rhythm of the seasons and the cycle of daylight waxing and waning as we go through the year.
    I don’t usually like November, especially not when it occurs in January.

  5. 😦 In that reply up above, “cure” should have been “curse”…

    Makes a bit more sense that way. *sighs*

  6. Charlotte, you really have been having weather recently!

    Santra – what an excellent curse. I’ll save it up for people I really really dislike.

    Archie, what an interesting view on winter.

    Teuchter, I do agree we need winters to punctuate our summers. In fact it is the lack of cold weather (up until today and yesterday) that has been confusing me.

    Anyway, it is noticably lighter earlier in the mornings and later at night, which makes me feel hugely better.

    Thanks all for commenting.

    Aphra.

Leave a Reply

