My NaBloPoMo hell

Only this post and two others of NaBloPoMo. Woo Hoo!

I started in a spirit of curiousity; I wanted to see if I could blog interestingly every day. I can’t.

The blogs I like writing are what journos call “think-pieces”. If an idea comes knocking on my forehead, I like to consider it for a while, kick it around my cranium and fiddle with it in draft form before posting something which is I hope coherent and reasonably well thought through If it is thought-provoking, or sparks reactions or even a debate, then that’s a bonus.

This is how I engage with the world: I notice something and then prod it until something interesting falls out. It works well with ideas but is not an approach to be recommended with wasp nests.

I need this rehearsing-time to write to a standard I am happy with. Posting daily means I don’t get that time. Hardly a surprise.

Others of course write more of a journal, but I don’t want to put my life out there for everyone to read, and I feel that November has prompted me to use my day-to-day life more than I would normally choose to.

The lazy answer is to rely on quizzes and other memes, and once I have launched my Christmas quiz on on a nervous world I am going to foreswear them for a while.

One good thing though, is that I ended up writing shorter blogs, simply because of lack of time. It remains to be seen if that continues.

So from December onwards I am cutting back to two blogs a week. And hopefully they’ll be more interesting.

3 responses to “My NaBloPoMo hell

  1. I’ve loved knowing that there’s an Aphra blog every day, and then reading it! But I too am looking forward to having the time to sift and polish my own little diamonds a bit more. It’s been an interesting experience. Now I’m ready to move one.

  2. That would be “move on”.

  3. Thank you Charlotte. I’ve enjoyed knowing that you’ll have blogged too. But for the sake of my sanity, you understand…. šŸ˜‰

    I’m impressed by your decision to shift the daily writing activities to The Novel though.

    AB

Leave a Reply

