Time and tide

Have you noticed that different people have different event horizons. (Does “event horizon” mean what I think it means? Ah, no. Hmmm. Almost. Oh well, never mind).

My name is Humpty Dumpty, and I refuse to define my terms.

Have you noticed that different people need different amounts of notice for future events? The one I chat these things over with told me that his aunt once asked him “but how do you know what you will be doing in two weeks?” To which his answer was “I look in my diary”. Obviously. Which may be why she goes to India on cheap standby flights, and I don’t go at all.

My event horizon is about 6 weeks. It used to be about 4 but the one I have to plan things with works shifts and rotas and things, and then I have Other Commitments which have to be slotted in, so now I know in principle what I’ll be doing for all the weekends from now and on in to the middle of January. Late January actually.

I once went out with someone who valued Spontaneity. He had an event horizon of two weeks. I ended up having to Schedule Spontaneous Weekends in amongst my plans for seeing my friends and doing other things, otherwise I’d never have seen him at all. This was pretty important, since I was in the UK at the time, and he wasn’t. On the other hand, my flights were cheaper. This fell sharply into contrast when, at about this time, I tried to book a weekend with my friend R, who had every single weekend for the following three months accounted for. Now that’s scheduling!

This all came to mind because I had an invitation to a works Christmas party for the 7th of December. I have had plans for then since the middle of October, (it is the WI winter knees-up, if you must know), so I couldn’t go. But the invitation gave us just under two weeks notice for an evening do. I said that I thought that was an inadequate amount of notice, but the people around me looked at me as if I was the unreasonable one. But it isn’t as if the party organisers hadn’t known when Christmas was this year, is it now?

Whinge.

Moan.

Whine.

Anyway, that set me to mulling over event horizons, and thus we have the blog you see here.

5 responses to “Time and tide

  1. I have an event horizon of about five minutes. The reason I don’t go on holiday is because I am still reeling from the whole ‘gotta book my time off with for summer in January and thus book holidays almost six months in advance’ thing you got going on here. Well, I know some people book earlier than that.

    However, I am impressed with myself because I have just managed to schedule an evening with some friends for the 9th of December I actually had to start the negotiations a good month before that so that everyone could get their diaries out.

    The fact that a few people couldn’t come at a months’ notice though has rather inclined me towards the idea that I am going to have to resign myself to having organised fun in the new year rather than just casually emailing people and seeing if they want a coffee. I mean tomorrow, but it inevitably ends up weeks later after a lot of toing and froing.

    I just assumed, mind, that I was being unadult and studentish (no commitments! Woohoo!).

  2. I have an event horizon of about five minutes. The reason I don’t go on holiday is because I am still reeling from the whole ‘gotta book my time off with for summer in January and thus book holidays almost six months in advance’ thing you got going on here. Well, I know some people book earlier than that.

    However, I am impressed with myself because I have just managed to schedule an evening with some friends for the 9th of December I actually had to start the negotiations a good month before that so that everyone could get their diaries out.

    The fact that a few people couldn’t come at a months’ notice though has rather inclined me towards the idea that I am going to have to resign myself to having organised fun in the new year rather than just casually emailing people and seeing if they want a coffee. I mean tomorrow, but it inevitably ends up weeks later after a lot of toing and froing.

    I just assumed, mind, that I was being unadult and studentish (no commitments! Woohoo!). Or possibly, I have a boring life…

  3. Pants. Confused by the pop up messages again.

  4. And I’ve buggered up the apostrophe too.

  5. Mine veers between months and minutes! With my group of uni friends we have to do the complicated toing and froing to get a weekend when we’re all free, but usually I only know a couple of weeks in advance wht we’re doing. This is largely dictated by what things J needs to get done over a weekend too – so we tend to keep things quite, er, fluid so that if he gets stuck into welding pipework, he can just get on and finish it if he needs to. And we’ve been living in a state of ‘nearly’ for a year where things have been just about to happen, and then haven’t. So we don’t plan anything in case X or Y happens, and they don’t so we end up with Z (watching Casualty on a saturday night rather than elegant gatherings or fun times out).

    I’d rather have the social whirl, but never mind.

    We have had a calendar hanging in the kitchen this year which has meant that the lots-of-notice things do at least get written down so we don’t double book anything. Must remember to ask santa for a new one for the coming year.

Leave a Reply

