… a woman’s work is never done

I was not put on this world to do housework. Unfortunately the world does not know and appreciate this fact.

I spent fully half of Friday tidying my house, collating two bin bags of rubbish in the process, and it is a small house. Last night, I spent three hours cleaning my kitchen, with the promise of the same again tonight and tomorrow to clean the rest of the house. The kitchen looks much the same as it did before I cleaned it, but whiter and shinier.

I could get a cleaner of course, but I wouldn’t want to be exploitative. I’d want someone who enjoyed cleaning.

How morally wrong would it be to put a notice in the Post Office saying: “Cleaner wanted, 2 days a week, obsessive compulsives only need apply”?

4 responses to “… a woman’s work is never done

  1. When he’s finished at your house, then could he come to mine?

    Actually, I have a great cleaner, who does claim to love it. Every week I am stunned by the sparkle she achieves in four hours. My home looks astounding for about 45 minutes and then we degenerate back to chaos. It’s just such an unrewarding task, that’s why I hate it.

  2. What you need to do, right, is have a load of building work done so it isn’t worth cleaning because that room is being ripped out anyway…

    I wish we had a cleaner, but J won’t pay someone to do something we could do ourselves. This is handy for him, as cleaning (particularly cleaning bathrooms) is something he has neatly parcelled off in his mind as ‘jobs Kelli does’.

    Except I don’t do cleaning as often as we need. God knows what will happen after the building work is finished and I run out of excuses not to bother. I’ll be heavily pregnant by then, but after the baby comes *all* household related tasks are deemed to be ‘jobs Kelli does’, as I’ll be on maternity leave which is clearly just An-Eight-Month-Long-Holiday, and if I wasn’t scrubbing the house/doing the shopping/gardening/running errands/laundering/walking dogs/cooking I would clearly just be watching daytime telly with my feet up. Baby? What baby?

    What I *really* need, is for everything to be self-cleaning. And to have a bathroom that actually looks better for being in a hard water area…

  3. A tidy house? That’s is un-natural with a high state of entropy.

    I go for a house that is in a low but steady state of entropy (apart from cream cartons that fall of kitchen tops like tonight. Though that too was heading for a low energy state too!

    The eason it is so hard to tidy up as it is going against the laws of physics and natuer like tyring to push a boulder up a hill it will always want to go to the bottom of the hill so let it!

    Your house wants a low entropy state so let it!

    Science: created to justify messiness. 🙂

  4. A tidy house? That’s is un-natural with a high state of entropy.

    I go for a house that is in a low but steady state of entropy (apart from cream cartons that fall of kitchen tops like tonight. Though that too was heading for a low energy state too!

    The eason it is so hard to tidy up as it is going against the laws of physics and nature like trying to push a boulder up a hill it will always want to go to the bottom of the hill so let it!

    Your house wants a low entropy state so let it!

    Science: created to justify messiness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

