For m, and other large values of n

Gosh. I’ve just discovered something.

A whole new word in fact:

 

immanent

Now there was me thinking it was a typo lurking under your finger-tips when you are trying to type imminent. Nothing of the sort. Immanent is another word entirely. Then there is eminent which means well known, and enimen, which happens because white men cannot sing the blues, and M&Ms which are chocolates covered in blue-stuff.

Immanent means ‘inherent in, indwelling’.

 

Enimen’s fondness for M&Ms and his immanent flair for hip-hop made his eminence imminent.

Try saying that without re-gluing your dentures!

4 responses to “For m, and other large values of n

  1. Good grief. As if spelling weren’t difficult enough in the first place.

  2. Quite.

    I’ve also just realised that Ursula K LeGuin was probably writing about the Immanent Grove. 30+ years of doing the woman a mis-service. I feel bad about that.

    It’s good to have you back Sol.

    AB

  3. I’m going to try to use it every day! While I wait for the chance, I’m giggling over Eminem and his M&Ms.

  4. Thank you for this meditation on immanence and other m-and-m’s. It’s helpful to have someone set you straight on just one word. I like my vocab in small bites.

Leave a Reply

