Postcards from Blackpool

I spent this weekend in Blackpool. It was cold. It was wet. It was tacky: (“In Blackpool the things in the Poundshops are all over-priced”). But it was also photogenic:

‘Guernica’ Rocket

Having already written about Picasso’s Gurnica here, it seemed worthwhile to show this. The rocket is apparently a familiar part of the Promenade, and is a model of one of Thunderbird Three. I wish now I had paid more attention to why exactly it had been repainted with a rendition of Picasso’s Guernica.

The ‘Big One’ from the South Pier - I
The Big One from the South Pier – I

The Tower from the South Pier - I
The Tower from the South Pier – I

Seagulls alongside the South Pier
Seagulls alongside the South Pier

The South Pier
The South Pier

Old Bench
Old Bench

“Keep Out” - Full Tide
I liked the King Canuteness of this. They are doing a lot of rebuilding work to improve the whole length of the Promenade.

The Tower from the Ferris Wheel on the Central Pier
The Tower from the Ferris Wheel on the Central Pier.

Blackpool Valentine
Blackpool Valentine

The ‘Big One’ from the South Pier - II
The Big One from the South Pier – II
(This was taken about three hours or so after the first of this pair)

The Tower from the South Pier - II
The Tower from the South Pier – II
(I should warn any emulators that the sand under the piers is boggy and rather dangerous – I’m not sure I’d try taking these photos twice).

The Largest Glitterball and the Biggest Rollercoaster
The Largest Glitterball and the Biggest Rollercoaster

The Largest Gitterball in the World
The Largest Gitterball in the World

New Bench
New Bench

The postcard shot
The Postcard shot


A note on the photos: these are undoctored, and straight as they came off my phone, with the exception of the Postcard which I rotated by 3.5 degrees (I have a horror of tilted horizons). I did reduce them all to 30% of their original size, but I really could not be bothered to adjust any of them. They are, however, the best few of the 240 that I took. Even so, I love my phone.

8 responses to “Postcards from Blackpool

  1. What a beautiful, moody photo-essay. I loved the new bench/old bench juxtaposition and the wild sea! Did you go on any roller-coasters?

  2. The bench ones are fine indeed! And I quite liked the seagulls 🙂

  3. Looks like you had a bracing day there in Sunny Blackpool.

    You didn’t poke a lion in the ear with a “stick with the ‘orse’s ‘ead ‘andle” then.

  4. Very nearly! I went on “The Roller Coaster” – the smallest and wussiest of the roller coasters. The one who thinks these things are fun said that he had never heard anyone say “no-no-no-no-no-no-this-is-not-ok-no-NO-NO-how-long-will-it-last?-no-no-no” with quite the same repetition and emphasis before now.

    On the other hand, he has not been present at a natural childbirth either.

    Anyway, we’ve agreed that it is pretty pointless for me to visit Alton Towers again!

    AB

  5. Looks like you put your phone to very good use. I definitely need to get to a beach soon.

  6. That old bench one made me feel terribly nostalgic, but I’m not sur what I was/am feeling nostalgic for. Isn’t that odd?

  7. I liked the new bench / old bench juxtaposition too Charlotte, but didn’t notice it until I was picking through the photos looking for ones to post. They were at opposite ends of the beach and opposite ends of the weekend, which is why I did not notice them.

    SG V – the seagulls were impressive, the wind was so strong that they were stationery in the air, about 10′ away from the pier we were standing on, and very easy to photograph.

    Phil, you are right, I felt braced for at least three days afterwards.

    I did realise at one point that I was photographing more than I was looking healingmagichands, which is one of the risks of cameras. Your comment about needing to get to a beach has made me think a lot about the difference between urban beaches and rural ones. I doubt you mean a beach like Blackpool’s.

    Had any further thoughts why the old bench made you feel nostalgic, Singing Librarian?

    AB

  8. cool postcards, well their from blackpool which rocks! LOVE BLACKPOOL

Leave a Reply

