Touching the Planet

How many people in our western cyberized world have never walked barefoot on the earth?

I had to bully the one I walk on beaches with into taking off his boots and socks in order to feel the sand and water between his toes. I was shocked by this. I love the feeling of the ground beneath my feet, whether it is grass or mud or stone or sand. Apart from the sheer physical pleasure, I feel grounded, refreshed and restored whenever I touch the planet in this way.

But how many people live such protected and artificial lives that they have never done this? Have you never touched the planet with your feet, Gentle Reader, or is it something you do whenever you get the chance?

It worries me.

Touching the Planet

2 responses to “Touching the Planet

  1. I don’t do it very often, but it is a wonderful feeling. Particularly on a sandy beach. I tried it in snow once, mainly to see what my footprints would look like, but I don’t recommend it! Brrr… David

  2. I did have to run along a snow-covered railway platform without my boots on once, with only tights on my feet. As you say, not to be recommended.

    🙂

    AB

Leave a Reply

